Skip to content

Aaron Rodgers Named NFL MVP for Second Consecutive Year

Aaron Rodgers es elegido por segundo año consecutivo como el jugador más valioso de la NFL

Leer en Español

[Leer en español]

Green Bay Packers passer Aaron Rodgers was selected Thursday for the second consecutive year as the NFL’s Most Valuable Player at the NFL Honors.

The ceremony honors the best of 2021 in different categories and is held prior to the Lombardi Trophy game.

Super Bowl LVI will be held this Sunday between the Los Angeles Rams and the Cincinnati Bengals at SoFi Stadium, located in Inglewood, California.

This is the fourth time Rodgers has won an MVP (Most Valuable Player) award; he previously won in 2011, 2014 and 2020.

The Green Bay quarterback left behind Tom Brady, Johnny Unitas, Brett Favre, Jim Brown, who have three and moved to one behind Peyton Manning, who is the top winner with five MVPs.

Rodgers thanked his team’s coach, Matt LaFleur, for helping him achieve this recognition.

Rodgers finished the season with 4,115 yards (3.76 km) and 37 touchdowns and led Green Bay to the playoffs.

The Offensive Player of the Year trophy went to Los Angeles Rams receiver Cooper Kupp, the triple-crown holder, leading the league in receptions with 1,947 yards (1.78 km) and 16 touchdowns.

The Defensive Player of the Year went to Steelers linebacker Trent Jordan Watt, who led the NFL in catches with 22.5, tying the NFL record set by Michael Strahan of the Giants.

Ja’Marr Chase, 21-year-old receiver for the Cincinnati Bengals, was awarded the Offensive Rookie of the Year award. He was the fourth-best receiver of the season with 1,455 yards (1.33 km) and 13 touchdowns.

The Defensive Rookie award went to Dallas Cowboys wing Micah Parsons, 22. He finished sixth in the league in catches with 13, three interceptions and caused three fumbles.

Mike Vrabel of the Titans won the Coach of the Year trophy.

Vrabel had his team finish the regular season as the best in the NFL with a 12-5 record despite losing his best player, running back Derrick Henry, and his two-star receivers, A.J. Brown and Julio Jones, to injury for most of the season.

The Comeback Player of the Season award went to Bengals passer Joe Burrow, who tore the anterior cruciate ligament and medial collateral ligament in his left knee in November 2020 in a game against Washington in Week 10.

Burrow returned this season to lead the Bengals to the AFC North title, the American championship, and will now play in Super Bowl LVI against the Los Angeles Rams.

Also announced at the NFL Honors ceremony were the eight new members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, which honors the NFL’s best in history, and the Walter Payton Award, a recognition of community service.

The Hall of Fame inductees included lineman Tony Boselli; wide receiver Cliff Branch; deep receiver Le Roy Butler; linebacker Sam Mills; defensive end Richard Seymour; defensive end Bryant Young; lineman Bryant Young; coach Dick Vermeil; and journeyman Art McNally.

The Walter Payton Award was presented to Andrew Whitworth, Rams lineman.

Leave a Reply