Skip to content

AMLO Won’t Attend Summit of the Americas

Available: Español

[Leer en español]

The President of Mexico, Andrés Manuel López Obrador (AMLO), informed on Monday that he will not attend the Summit of the Americas. He stated the decision was made because the United States decided not to invite the regimes of Cuba, Nicaragua, and Venezuela for violating the human rights of their citizens.

“I am not going to attend [the Summit], and Marcelo Ebrard he goes in my representation and that of the government. And I am not going to the Summit because not all the countries of the Americas have been invited, and I believe in the need to change the policy that has been imposed for centuries. Exclusion, the desire to dominate without any reason, the lack of respect for the sovereignty of countries, the independence of each country,” said the Mexican President.

He added: “It would be the last straw for us to attend a Summit in this context, this is contrary to Mexico’s foreign policy, to what our Constitution establishes, to non-intervention, to the self-determination of peoples. From my point of view, they are acting with hatred and do not want the brotherhood of peoples, and they are making a self-sacrificing and dignified people like the people of Cuba suffer a lot.”

The U.S. decision on the Summit of the Americas

López Obrador’s statements were made during a press conference, but, despite rejecting the invitation to the summit, he stressed he plans to visit President Joe Biden at the White House in July and commented that the issues to be addressed would focus on migration and the integration of the Americas.

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, special advisor to President Biden for the Summit of the Americas, said that the invitations considered those who defend and promote democracy throughout the hemisphere.

"*" indicates required fields

Is the Mar-A-Lago raid an unjust witch hunt?*
This poll gives you free access to our premium politics newsletter. Unsubscribe at any time.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

“We are not going to include countries that are violating human rights,” assured Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, in an interview for NTN24.