Skip to content

Writers of Freedom Anthem ‘Patria Y Vida’ to Receive ‘Medal of Freedom’ in Florida

Artistas cubanos se congregan para enviar aliento a sus compatriotas en la isla: "Hay que seguir presionando"

Leer en Español

The songwriters of Patria y Vida will be awarded the “Medal of Freedom” by the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame (LSHOF) at the gala welcoming its new members to be held on October 13 in South Florida.

This new award created by the entity will go to Yotuel Romero, Beatriz Luengo, Descemer Bueno, Luis Manuel Otero Alcántara, Maykel Osorbo, Alexander Delgado, Randy Malcom Martínez, and DJ El Funky, the authors of the song that has become an anthem for the opposition inside and outside Cuba.

The song, which was the soundtrack of the popular protests of July 11, 2021, has received, among others, the Latin Grammy for best song of the year.

The “Medal of Freedom” will be one of the “La Musa Awards” to be presented at the LSHOF ceremony to be held at the Hard Rock Hotel in Hollywood, which will also celebrate its tenth anniversary, as Billboard magazine announced on Monday.

At the gala, the Miami Beach-based institution will welcome its new members, including Dominican Johnny Ventura, who passed away in July of last year and who will posthumously join this hall that gathers and pays tribute to the great figures of Latin music.

The other honorees in this year’s edition will be producers Desmond Child and Rudy Perez, both founders of the LSHOF, and composer Tony Renis.

The ceremony will also honor Mexican musician Emmanuel (who will receive an award for his artistic legacy), and Puerto Rican José Feliciano (who will receive the “Song of All Time” award for his immortal song Feliz Navidad).

Spanish Manuel Alejandro and Venezuelan Elena Rose will be among the other musicians to be awarded at the gala, as well as music and entertainment industry executives Gustavo Menéndez, Walter Kolm and Eddy Cue.

According to Billboard, the gala, which will be hosted by Peruvian-American actress and singer Isabela Merced, will feature performances by artists such as Emilio and Gloria Estefan, José Feliciano, Draco Rosa, Erika Ender, La India, Luis Figueroa, Yotuel, Gente De Zona, among others.

As in previous years, this year’s honorees for the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame have been selected from a group of nominees chosen by a committee of music industry figures and leaders.

Leave a Reply