Skip to content

22 Republican Governors Warn that Democrat Spending Bill will Increase Inflation

Ron DeSantis firma legislación para defender e impulsar la educación cívica


Available: Español

[Leer en español]

With the Inflation Reduction Act getting closer to passing in the Senate, 22 governors signed a statement condemning the bill and arguing that its approval would be counterproductive in the fight against the generalized price increase, which recently reached its highest level since 1980.

The joint statement followed Senate Democrats finalizing negotiations with Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ) to pass their spending bill in the Senate successfully.

Majority Leader Chuck Schumer intends to pass the bill through the “reconciliation process” before the August recess, given the lack of bipartisan support. In other words, this will override the 60-vote minimum and make it possible to pass it with a simple majority (50+1), counting on the vote of Vice President Kamala Harris.

Governors’ Statement Against the Inflation Reduction Law

“The Democrats’ solution to 40-year high inflation is passing another reckless tax and spending spree to the tune of $740 billion, affecting Americans in every tax bracket”, began the statement signed by 22 Republican governors.

"*" indicates required fields

Do you believe the FBI was planting evidence during the Mar-A-Lago raid?*
This poll gives you free access to our premium politics newsletter. Unsubscribe at any time.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

“While denying recession, Democrats want to raise taxes on businesses and manufacturers, which will force higher costs onto consumers, worsen inflation, and aggravate shortages.”, they added.

The statement was led by Governors Brian Kemp (R-GA) and Henry McMaster (R-SC). They were joined by Ron DeSantis (R-FL), Doug Ducey (R-AZ), Asa Hutchinson (R-AR), Brad Little (R-ID), Kim Reynolds (R-IA), Tate Reeves (R-MS), Mike Parson (R-MO), Greg Gianforte (R-MT), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Kristi Noem (R-SD), Bill Lee (R-TN), Greg Abbott (R-TX), Mark Gordon (R-WY), Chris Sununu (R-NH), Kevin Stitt (R-OK), Doug Burgum (R-ND), Kay Ivey (R-AL), Spencer Cox (R -UT), Glenn Youngkin (R-VA) and Eric Holcomb (R-IN).

“With sky-high prices at the pump, the last thing Americans need is for Democrats to punish energy producers, which will ultimately hurt working families struggling to pay for gas, goods, food, and utilities,” the statement continued.

In addition, this week, Republicans on the Senate Committee on Finance released a report by the Joint Committee on Taxation (JCT). The nonpartisan entity revealed that, by 2023, taxes would increase for all those under the plan, except for those earning between $10,000 and $30,000 a year.

“Our citizens cannot afford Joe Biden’s broken promises on taxes and Democrats’ inflationary spending that will only exacerbate the economic crisis they created,” the 22 governors’ statement concluded.

Joaquín Núñez es hincha de Racing Club de Avellaneda y licenciado en comunicación periodística por la Universidad Católica Argentina. Se especializa en el escenario internacional y en la política norteamericana // Joaquín Núñez is a fan of Avellaneda's Racing Club and has a degree in journalistic communication from the Universidad Católica Argentina. He specializes in the international scene and American politics.