Skip to content

Tom Brady Reverses Retirement Decision; Will Play with Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Leer en Español

[Leer en español]

Tom Brady, considered the best player in the history of the NFL, stated this Sunday that he realized that his place “is still on the field” and announced that he will continue to play for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, little more than a month after announcing his retirement from the competition.

“In these last two months, I realized my place is still on the pitch and not in the stands. That time will come. But it’s not now. I love my teammates, and I love my family. They make it all possible. I’m coming back for my 23rd season in Tampa,” Brady wrote on his Twitter account.

“The job is not done,” the 44-year-old 15-time Pro Bowl selection and legendary quarterback concluded.

The field marshal, the top winner of Super Bowl rings with seven, was in the United Kingdom on Saturday in the match between Manchester United, a team in which the Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo plays, against Tottenham, in the Premier League.

On February 1, Brady said that his time in the NFL was over.

“This is hard for me to say, but here I go: I’m not going to have that competitive commitment anymore. I’ve loved my career in the NFL, and now it’s time to focus my time and energy on other things that require my attention.”

One of the reasons why Brady decided to put an end to his career was the pain he caused his family to see how he was beaten on the field every weekend, but the support of his wife and children has allowed him to back down.

“I love my family they are my support. They do everything they can to back me up in all the decisions I make,” he argued.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers reacted on their social networks where they shared a photo of their quarterback. “He is back and is really very good,” was the text that accompanies the image of the post.

In the 2021 season Brady led the Buccaneers to finish as South Division Champions of the National Conference with 13 games won and four lost.

In the playoffs, Tampa Bay fell in the divisional round to the Los Angeles Rams, who ultimately became the NFL champions.

Leave a Reply