Skip to content

Trump’s 22 Candidates Won GOP Nominations in Indiana and Ohio


Leer en Español

[Leer en español]

All 22 candidates in Indiana and Ohio who received Donald Trump’s endorsement won Republican Senate nominations in the primary elections, a sign that the former president’s support is a powerful boost toward electoral victory.

One of the Ohio candidates, J.D. Vance, author of the best-selling Hillbilly Elegy, began his Senate race in fifth place and with 10% of the voting intention before winning Trump’s public endorsement. This Tuesday night, Vance won with a 32% of the vote and took home the Republican nomination.

“JD Vance put in tremendous work and has immense political talent—which put him in the position to earn the support of President Trump—but it was the endorsement of President Donald J. Trump that took a candidate who many insiders said was in 4th and at single digits in the polls, and in only two weeks, propelled him into a commanding first place finish,” Trump spokesman Taylor Budowich told Breitbart after Vance’s victory in Ohio.

The “undeniable power” of Trump’s support

Candidate Max Miller, who also received the support of the former Republican president, won the Republican nomination for Ohio District 7, replacing Representative Anthony Gonzalez, who refused to resign his seat after being one of the 10 Senate Republicans who voted in favor of impeachment against President 45.

Madison Gesiotto Gilbert, meanwhile, won the Republican nomination for Ohio’s 13th District and will face Democratic nominee Emilia Sykes in November.

Representatives Steve Chabot, Ben Wesntrup, Jim Jordan, Bob Latta, Bill Johnson, Warren Davidson, Mike Turner, Troy Balderson and Mike Carey won the Republican nominations for their districts and will compete for re-election.

Ohio Secretary of State Frank Larose, Attorney General David Yost, Treasurer Robert Sprague and Auditor Keith Faber, all Republicans, also won the party’s nomination for re-election.

In Indiana, all six candidates endorsed by Donald Trump won the Republican nomination: Jackie Walorski, Jim Banks, Jim Baird, Victoria Spartz, Greg Pence and Larry Bucshon. All hold seats and are running for re-election.

The victories of those targeted by Trump demonstrate the “undeniable power” of his support, as Budowich told Breitbart News, “The power of President Trump’s endorsement is undeniable, his dominance over the Republican powerbrokers in D.C. cannot be overstated, and the promise of this MAGA Movement will not just define the Midterms, but it will win for years to come.”

Last March 1, candidates who got Trump’s nod for the Republican primary in Texas won all 32 races, so Indiana and Ohio continue the good run the former president got in the Lone Star State.

Leave a Reply