Skip to content

GOP-led States Celebrate Roe Decision by Swiftly Banning Abortions: This Is a Pro-Life State

Kentucky, Luisiana y Dakota del Sur prohíben el aborto, 23 estados más podrían sumarse, ¿cuáles son?

Leer en Español

[Leer en español]

Kentucky, Louisiana and South Dakota all banned abortion on Friday following the Supreme Court’s decision to overturn Roe v. Wade.

All three states had previously passed abortion ban laws that went into effect as soon as the Supreme Court’s decision became public.

The States of Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wyoming have passed laws banning abortion that will take effect following the Supreme Court’s ruling.

In the case of Idaho, Tennessee, and Texas, the ban on abortion will not take effect for another 30 days, according to data from the Guttmacher Institute.

Other states, such as Arizona, Georgia, Iowa and Michigan, have restrictions in place that may now go into effect.

At this time, only 16 states (California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Vermont, Rhode Island and Washington), as well as the District of Columbia, have adopted laws permitting abortion.

Texas Governor Greg Abbott reacted on Twitter as soon as the ruling overturning Roe v. Wade, which legalized abortion across the United States, was announced.

Abbott stated that Texas is a pro-life state and will always fight to save all children from the devastation of abortion.

Texas’ Governor assessed as correct the Supreme Court’s decision that allows each state to decide on abortion.

The Supreme Court majority ruled in favor of overturning “Roe v. Wade” by considering that abortion is not constitutionally protected.

Leave a Reply